top of page

Leadership

Alsherjargothi

The mission of our Leadership is to rally the Men and Women of our Folk, the Sons and Daughters of Europe in Midgard, to come together for our common spirituality and purpose. We do so in a manner that is confident and noble. The Asatru Folk Assembly is constantly evolving while maintaining continuity in leadership.
 

One of the most significant moments in Asatru Folk Assembly history was the passing of the duties and responsibilities of Alsherjargothi from Stephen McNallen to Matthew Flavel.

The role of Alsherjargothi, Old Norse for “Chieftain of All the People”, demands leading those who make up the Asatru Folk Assembly as well as tending to the spiritual needs of our Folk and looking out for their interests.

mattflavel.png

Alsherjargothi Matthew Flavel

Nevada

 Mattflavel@runestone.org

Goðar of Óðinshof

Goðar of the Asatru Folk Assembly are the ministers of our Folk. The position of Gothi or Gythia is one of both leadership and service. All Asatru Folk Assembly Goðar are ordained clergy who are legally recognized in most states and regions to perform services and conduct ceremonies as ministers of the AFA, a religious, non-profit organization. AFA Goðar responsibilities include leading marriages, funerary rites, baby naming ceremonies, land takings, coming of age rites, and other rituals. Goðar also organize the Asatru Folk Assembly and community events, assist with the formation of new kindreds, provide counseling services, and educate those unfamiliar with our tradition. They also often engage in many other forms of public services.

Gothi Thorgrun Odden

California 

Gythia Sheila McNallen
California

Sheila@runestone.org

Folkbuilders of Óðinshof

In the AFA, our greatest priority is our members’ needs. We prioritize real life interactions to build Folkish communities of like-minded people who are honoring our Gods all across the globe. Folkbuilders are the local leaders of these communities. These men and women are making a difference by hosting local events "moots" and regularly interacting with members, helping connect folk with the divine. Additionally, Folkbuilders are often busy behind the scenes performing administrative duties such as managing the online member database, planning monthly Hof events, and assisting the Goðar with various tasks.

rharlan.jpg

Folkbuilder Ryan Harlan

Montana

Rharlan@runestone.org

schapman.png

Folkbuilder Sierra Chapman

California

Schapman@runestone.org

Folkbuilder Tyler Heinlein

Montana

Theinlein@runestone.org

lnickerson.png

Folkbuilder Lou Nickerson

Arizona

Lnickerson@runestone.org

osutherland.png

Folkbuilder Olivia Sutherland

California

Osutherland@runestone.org

kreader.jpg

Apprentice Kyle Reader

Idaho

Kreader@runestone.org

asimbeck.jpg

Apprentice Aaron Simbeck

Washington

Asimbeck@runestone.org

rskinner.jpg

Apprentice Ryan Skinner

California

Rskinner@runestone.org

ngunn.jpg

Apprentice Nick Gunn

Washington

Ngunn@runestone.org

Odinshof District:

Óðinshof District encompasses Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, Alberta, British Columbia, Northwest Territories, Yukon, Australia, and New Zealand.

bottom of page